Christmas Quiz

Wow, this one is actually accurate! Thanks to Unraveling the Enigma for the pointer.

Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
You are ‘Hark! The Herald Angels Sing’. You take
Christmas very seriously. For you, it is a
religious festival, celebrating the birth of
the Saviour, and its current secularisation
really irritates you. You enjoy the period of
Advent leading up to Christmas, and attend any
local carol services you can find, as well as
the more contemplative Advent church services
each Sunday. You may be involved in Christmas
food collections or similar charity work. The
midnight service at your church, with candles
and carols, is one you look forward to all
year, and you also look forward to the family
get together on Christmas Day.

What Christmas Carol are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

Take the quiz and let us know your results via Comments.

Posted in Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “Christmas Quiz

  1. I’m “Deck the Halls” The description was pretty accurate for me too, except for the pagan bit (don’t really consider myself to be a pagan). Here’s my result:

    You are ‘Deck the Halls’! Let’s be honest, itisn’t Christmas you are celebrating, is it? Infact, you know full well that there were noshepherds in the fields in December, and thatthe date of Christmas was put at midwinterspecifically to coincide with the oldercelebrations of Yule and the birth of Mithras.An unashamed Pagan, you take great glee in thenumber of carols referring to holly, evergreensand Winter’s end, and will sing them withgusto. You know where they really came from.And you do enjoy the seasonal celebrations,regardless of their name… A merry Yule toyou!

    Frankly, I’ve never understood religious folks who want Christmas to be a federal holiday on the one hand, but then turn around and complain that not everyone celebrates the holiday the way they do. Other religious holidays (such as Ash Wednesday) seem to have retained their pure religious nature, I suspect because no one expects non-believers to celebrate them.

    In any event, I grew up in a completely non-religious household, and we celebrated Christmas with gusto every year.

    BTW Natalie, I very much enjoy your blog (this is my first comment)!!

  2. That’s OK, Sara; Typepad can be quirky.

    I am one of those who believes that if Christmas should be a federal holiday, so should every other religious holiday. Overall, though, as I wholly support the separation of church and state, I believe none — including Christmas — should be. Of course, there are those who would argue that Christmas has become so secularized, it no longer really counts as a religious holiday.

  3. Yeah, I’m “Deck the Halls” too. I love a lot of carols and think the melodies are exquisite but obviously, having grown up Jewish, I’m not into a lot of the Jesus lyrics. 🙂

Comments are closed.