Honoring the Solstice

Apologies for my recent absence. I have a new (awful) job, and it is quite demanding in terms of time and energy. But I wanted to get here to talk about the Winter Solstice, which officially arrived in the wee hours of this morning (Eastern Standard Time).

Lots of kynd folks of all stripes celebrate Winter Solstice or Yule as a time to reflect on the planet, the miracles of nature, and peace and love. I sure do. And I’ve found a number of Web resources that offer great information about this wondrous time that hopefully will be helpful and enjoyable.


Still trying to figure out how to handle your celebration? No — it’s not too late! Circle Sanctuary offers a beautiful Solstice Planning Guide.

ReligiousTolerance.org presents a bunch of holiday info, including a fascinating list of December holidays celebrated by a wide variety of religions and schools of thought. Do scroll down the page and check this out and celebrate as many as you want.

Creative Minds Unlimited has some great information on “[t]he season when we honor the closing of circles, the Northern Quadrant of the Medicine Wheel, the White Buffalo, the White Owl, the Ancient Spirits and Wisdom among us and within us. The season when we learn, from nature, how to honor the darkness of Life’s Mysteries without losing faith…how to recognize the seeds of growth and nurture them in our own inner warmth until the Light returns…how to dignify the elder who lives always within us, and to face our own old age with serenity and faith and power.” CMU says there is a powerful message in commemorating Winter Solstice, one that indeed helps me during a most difficult time: “even in the darkest moments, health, serenity, and healing energy are available when we focus on them with positive intent.” And it poses a number of tough questions it might behoove each of us to ask of ourselves:

  • What am I endeavoring to manifest now in my life?
  • How can I change my thought patterns, to empower my goals?
  • What old connections could I release now, for my highest good?
  • Where can I turn for the best sources of Inspiration and Solutions?
  • What wisdom is seeking to reveal itself to me at this time?
  • What are the best ways that I can refresh myself, physically and spiritually?
  • How can I show my appreciation to others more effectively?
  • How can I show my appreciation to my Self more effectively?
  • What new idea has seeded itself this winter, and how can I best nurture it to fruition, as the earth nurtures her seeds??
  • What are the imprisoning fears that I feel ready to release?
  • What are the serenity landmarks or symbols of my Spirit Home? Of my Earthy Home?
  • What parts of me will awaken as the rebirth of Spring arrives?
  • How can I best focus on my blessings this season?
  • How can I turn negatives into positives?
  • How can I make the best use of this lifetime?

And, oh, this gorgeous prayer:

Great spirits of the Winter and of the North Direction. (Some people prefer to use the word, “God” instead. Do whatever you are comfortable with.) Hear us as we come asking for the wisdom and the courage to age gracefully in our lives and in our endeavors. Honor us with your presence as we stand in your Sacred section of our Season and of our Earthwalk. Permit the crystal clarity of winter snow to bring purity to our lives and thoughts, and healing to our bodies and to our world. Spirit of the White Buffalo, help us to turn the lessons we have learned and the knowledge we have gained into wisdom and abundance, spiritually and physically. Allow us to understand the DIGNITY OF BEING. Help us to learn the truth and beauty of NOT DOING. Spirit of the Great White Owl, teach us to fly with quiet grace and seeing eyes through the dark times of our lives. Give us the patience to share ourselves and our knowledge with those who can use them. Give us the faith and the courage to continue our journeys to the end, in dignity, so that our energy may once again arrive in the Dawn of the East. SHOW US HOW TO FIND JOY IN DARKNESS AND IN ENDINGS, AS WELL AS IN LIGHT AND IN BEGINNINGS. Ho.

Didn’t I tell you this was good stuff? Do avail yourself of this great resource.

And share the spirit: Send free Solstice greetings to your loved ones and friends and to anyone who could use a loving, peaceful word: JPC Artworks offers free holiday e-cards (a couple of which illustrate this posting).

Posted in Uncategorized