Zinn: Bring Them Home Now

In “The Logic of Withdrawal,” progressive, anti-war author Howard Zinn makes the case for sending troops in Iraq home now (the article will appear in the January 2004 issue of The Progressive). He does so in the form of a speech delivered by whoever ends up being the Democratic presidential nominee.

Here is his explanation behind the letter:

In the spring of 1967, my book Vietnam: The Logic of Withdrawal was published by Beacon Press. It was the first book on the war to call for immediate withdrawal, no conditions. Many liberals were saying: “Yes, we should leave Vietnam, but President Johnson can’t just do it; it would be very hard to explain to the American people.” My response, in the last chapter of my book, was to write a speech for Lyndon Johnson, explaining to the American people why he was ordering the immediate evacuation of American armed forces from Vietnam. No, Johnson did not make that speech, and the war went on. But I am undaunted, and willing to make my second attempt at speech writing. This time, I am writing a speech for whichever candidate emerges as Democratic Party nominee for President. My supposition is that the nation is ready for an all-out challenge to the Bush Administration, for its war policy and its assault on the well-being of the American people. And only such a forthright, courageous approach to the nation can win the election and save us from another four years of an Administration that is reckless with American lives and American values.

You can read the entire January piece now at The Progressive online.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Zinn: Bring Them Home Now

  1. Howard for President

    Natalie Davis points to a marvellous article by Howard Zinn. It’s in the form of a speech for the eventual Dem nominee, and it made me ache with longing for such a candidate. Here’s a taste: I believe that we…

  2. Sorry about the double ping. MT gave me an error on the first one and I didn’t think to check before re-pinging. I’d try deleting and reposting, but I suspect that would just make a third trackback.

Comments are closed.