New Year’s Wishes & Impeachment

As 2005 makes way for a brand new year, my thoughts are centered around what matters: Family, Friends, Making a Better World. Being swamped with household foo, I have not had the time to put some wish list into words. Happily, Matthew Rothschild, editor of The Progressive, published a wish list that is eerily similar to mine.

Anyway, for your edification, Rothschild’s wishes are presented below. In the meantime, I wish you and yours the happiest of new years and a 2006 that will be ruled by sense and compassion rather than greed and violence.

Matthew Rothschild
Editor, The Progressive

Here are my wishes for the New Year.

I wish that my parents make it through 2006 without slipping way down the treacherous slope of old age.

I wish that my wife, Jean, and our three kids remain healthy and happy and continue to bring joy on a daily basis, the best kind of joy.

I wish that our friends fill their year with love and play.

I wish that The Progressive finds better financial footing so we can keep shouting from the hill tops.

I wish that the alternative media, in general, prospers and that the open-air journalism school of the blogosphere keeps churning out skilled graduates who keep the mainstream media on its toes β€” and all of us better informed.

I wish that the peace movement burgeons so we can pressure Congress to end this crazy Iraq War and bring all the troops and all the bombers home before another bloody year passes.

I wish that the movement to protect democracy in America gains strength as it takes on the predators in the White House and the fulminators of rightwing fundamentalism in our culture.

I wish for more indictments.

May Patrick Fitzgerald bring low those who have abused their power.

And may the House of Representatives rise to the task of indicting this President for high crimes and misdemeanors.

So here’s to peace β€” and to impeachment! β€” in 2006.

Posted in Uncategorized