G-12 Interview; More on Koufax Awards

Cool day: A couple of weeks ago, Rod Amis of G-21, the World’s Magazine asked me to sit for an interview. We talked blogging and activism via email, and it was a lot of fun. Now the interview is live and available for reading. Check it out! And while you’re at it, pop by the Huffington Post. Arianna and the gang are hosting the Contagious Festival, a monthly competition featuring “original work by talented designers, activists, filmmakers and comics.” One of the February contestants is none other than G-21’s Mr. Amis. Rod’s got some thought-provoking work up at the HuffPost – have a look, and if you like it, cast a vote for him.

And how about this: My September essay “Rosa Parks: She Sat, She Inspired” is one of the (more than 200 – egad!) first-round Best Post nominees for Wampum’s 2005 Koufax Awards, which honor lefty bloggers. Voting is not yet under way, but I’ll let you know when balloting begins. I’m really proud of that article; it would be nice to see it gain some recognition in the wider world.

9 thoughts on “G-12 Interview; More on Koufax Awards

  1. Thanks guys!!

    Brad, not recalling a long-gone baseball player, even the amazing southpaw Sandy K., doesn’t make one a dunce. It was a helluva lot easier to keep up with everyone when I was a youngster, but as the decades pass, there are so many “legends” in the game. I’ll bet the redoubtable Bob Costas can’t keep them all straight.

  2. Thanks for all the kind words and links. It’s appreciated. Definitely let us all know when we can vote on the Koufax.

    And again, thanks for the interview. It was a real pleasure and an inspiration.

    Cheers!
    RA

  3. Congratulations also, Natalie. (I somehow pressed the wrong button before I was finished typing-what a dope!) Your article on Ms Parks was superb.

    I am also so sorry that Ms King’s funeral turned into a political boxing fest. It seems that there is no such thing as respect in this world anymore, especially with recent events such as ‘cartoon wars’.

    I was disappointed that the Funeral of one of our Greatest Civil Rights Leaders was held in that particular church anyway. I hope she will rest in Peace now with her Beloved Martin.

    Peace,
    =RD=

  4. I was disappointed by the choice of venue as well. (For those who don’t know, the pastor there, the Kings’ daughter Bernice, broke away from the family call for legal equality all due to her personal antigay stance.) We have to remember, though, the church is where Dr. King was pastor long ago, so in that sense it was appropriate. Still, I had to be amused (as well as disgusted) to hear that Fred Phelps and his crew planned to protest Mrs. King’s funeral because of her pro-gay stance. A few years back, I had the privilege of spending some time with Yolanda, the eldest King child, at a Soulforce event. She assured me that her mother and most of her siblings were fully on the side of equality for all, including GLBT people.

    As for the politicization of the funeral, I agree that the occasion was all wrong for that. At the same time, we know that Mrs. King agreed with many of the sentiments expressed. And if you recall, the late Paul Wellstone’s funeral was similarly hijacked. It was no surprise to me that it happened.

  5. Yes, you are right, of course, Natalie.

    I didn’t know Ms King, and I can’t pretend to speak for her, but I do know what she stood for, and I imagine that she would have also been amused & disgusted as well.
    At the same time, she probably would have been delighted that Jimmy Carter stood up and spoke like that. I guess that I’m just old-fashioned in thinking that respect for the person who’s died should be the ritual of the day, but after all, Mrs King was probably looking down with a big smile on her face, so in the end I suppose it was appropriate.

    Peace,
    =RD=

  6. From the source herself:

    “I still hear people say that I should not be talking about the rights of lesbian and gay people … But I hasten to remind them that Martin
    Luther King Jr. said, ‘Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.'”
    — Coretta Scott King

    Of all the “political” comments, I appreciated Jimmy Carter’s, which definitely were in line with the Kings’ commitment to fighting poverty. Segregation per se may be a thing of the past, but making poverty history was a huge component of the Kings’ vision for creating real equality in the US. Carter’s statements were, I believe, fitting. I must wonder about the others’, though.

Comments are closed.