Rush Comes Clean

Right-wing radio host Rush Limbaugh admits the truth: He is addicted to painkillers, which he has been taking since undergoing spinal surgery about five years ago. And he is probably in rehab right now.

The news came on his nationally syndicated program this afternoon:

You know I have always tried to be honest with you and open about my life. So I need to tell you today that part of what you have heard and read is correct. I am addicted to prescription pain medication. I first started taking prescription painkillers some years ago when my doctor prescribed them to treat post surgical pain following spinal surgery. Unfortunately the surgery was unsuccessful, and I continued to have severe pain in my lower back and also in my neck due to herniated discs.

I am still experiencing that pain. Rather than opt for additional surgery for these conditions, I chose to treat the pain with prescribed medication. This medication turned out to be highly addictive. Over the past several years I have tried to break my dependence on pain pills and, in fact, twice checked myself into medical facilities in an attempt to do so. I have recently agreed with my physician about the next steps. Immediately following this broadcast, I am checking myself into a treatment center for the next 30 days to once and for all break the hold this highly addictive medication has on me. …

I am no role model. I refuse to let anyone think I am doing something great here, when there are people you never hear about, who face long odds and never resort to such escapes. They are the role models. I am no victim and do not portray myself as such. I take full responsibility for my problem. At the present time the authorities are conducting an investigation, and I have been asked to limit my public comments until this investigation is complete. So, I will only say that the stories you have read and heard contain inaccuracies and distortions, which I will clear up when I am free to speak about them. I deeply appreciate all of your support over this last tumultuous week. It has sustained me. I ask now for your prayers.

Limbaugh will get mine. I hope he will get your prayers too.

Meanwhile, FREE TOMMY CHONG!

revised at 4:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “Rush Comes Clean

  1. I heard that. Given statements such as these (which I found on Conspiracy Planet), I do understand, my friend. It appears all these statements were made prior to his own troubles.

    We’re going to let you destroy your life. We’re going to make it easy and then all of us who accept the responsibilities of life and don’t destroy our lives on drugs, we’ll pay for whatever messes you get into.”
    — Rush Limbaugh show, Dec. 9, 1993

    “I’m appalled at people who simply want to look at all this abhorrent behavior and say people are going to do drugs anyway let’s legalize it. It’s a dumb idea. It’s a rotten idea and those who are for it are purely 100 percent selfish.”
    — Rush Limbaugh show, Dec 9, 1993

    “If(Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders) wants to legalize drugs, send the people who want to do drugs to London and Zurich, and let’s be rid of them.
    — Rush Limbaugh show, Dec 9, 1993

    “There’s nothing good about drug use. We know it. It destroys individuals. It destroys families. Drug use destroys societies. Drug use, some might say, is destroying this country. And we have laws against selling drugs, pushing drugs, using drugs, importing drugs. And the laws are good because we know what happens to people in societies and neighborhoods which become consumed by them. And so if people are violating the law by doing drugs, they ought to be accused and they ought to be convicted and they ought to be sent up.

    “What this says to me is that too many whites are getting away with drug use. Too many whites are getting away with drug sales. Too many whites are getting away with trafficking in this stuff. The answer to this disparity is not to start letting people out of jail because we’re not putting others in jail who are breaking the law. The answer is to go out and find the ones who are getting away with it, convict them and send them up the river, too.”
    — Rush Limbaugh show, Oct. 5, 1995

  2. i’m afraid mr. limbaugh has far greater problems
    than a drug addiction.

    If he would like to truly repent
    for his truth-distorting and hate-spewing,
    i’d be glad to forgive him.

Comments are closed.